From 2003 to 2009

The Supreme Court has always strived for organisational innovation and excellence. In line with the initiative taken by the Ministry of Finance, which launched the Managing for Excellence (MFE) Movement as the third pillar of the PS21 Movement, the Supreme Court has shown strong support for this movement, which aims to recognise the efforts of public organisations which have achieved organisational excellence.

In recognition of its achievements, the Supreme Court has received the following prestigious awards from 2003 to 2009:

Singapore Quality Class (SQC)

The Singapore Quality Class (SQC) is national certification scheme administered by SPRING Singapore to recognise organisations that have attained a commendable level of performance against the Singapore Quality Award (SQA). The Supreme Court attained the SQC in 2000, and subsequently renewed this award in 2003 and 2006. In 2009, during the integrated 3-in-1 business excellence recertification, Supreme Court was awarded the SQC Star Award in 2009.


People Developer Standard (PDS)

The Supreme Court was the first legal institution in Singapore to be conferred the People Developer Standard (PDS) in 1999. Since then, there has been no turning back. The Supreme Court was re-certified for PDS in 2002, 2005, and most recently in 2009 during the integrated recertification. Maintaining the PDS award is an affirmation of the Supreme Court's commitment and efforts towards both people and organisational excellence.


ISO 9001:2008

In 2001, the Supreme Court was awarded the ISO 9001:2000 certification at the organisational level. The Supreme Court successfully had its certification renewed in 2004 and 2007.  In March 2010, the Supreme Court once again succeeded in the third renewal of the certification with conversion to the ISO 9001:2008 standard at the same time.  The ISO 9000 standards, one of the most recognised in the world, are used as the foundation upon which an organisation develops its quality-management system.

Meritorius Defence Partner Award

The Meritorious Defence Partner Award is presented to organisations that have shown commendable support for Total Defence. Supreme Court is proud to receive the Meritorious Defence Partner Award in 2007 and 2010.


National Infocomm Award (NIA)

The National Infocomm Award (NIA) is the highest industry accolade for infocomm innovation in Singapore. In 2002, the Supreme Court was the first and only public institution, out of a total of 347 participating organisations, to be conferred the inaugural NIA Award for our "Innovative Use of Technology".

Singapore Innovation Class

In October 2004, the Supreme Court was awarded the Singapore Innovation Class, a Programme which was launched to provide organisations with a framework for achieving innovation excellence. The Supreme Court was subsequently re-certificated in 2007 and most recently in 2009 during the integrated recertification. This award was a timely affirmation of how far the Supreme Court has come in terms of innovation excellence.


Managing Information Strategies (MIS) Innovation Award

The Supreme Court's Electronic Filing System (EFS) was awarded the Managing Information Strategies (MIS) Innovation Award (E-Business category) in 2003. The MIS Innovation Awards 2003 recognised organisations that have reaped benefits through the innovative use of IT.


Justice Served Top 10 Websites Award

"Justice Served" is a USA-based alliance of court management and justice experts which provides management services, consultation and training to courts justice agencies and their partners in technology. In 2006, the Supreme Court website was award top honours in the "Justice Served" Top 10 Websites Award 2006.