Contact InfoFeedback FormSitemap

About Us
level 2 bulletVision, Mission and Values
level 2 bulletHistory
level 3 bulletFormer Recorders and Chief Justices of the Straits Settlements, Colony of Singapore and State of Singapore
level 3 bulletFormer Judges of the Republic of Singapore
level 2 bulletOur Courts
level 2 bulletJudges, Judicial Commissioners and Registrars
level 3 bulletSenior Judges
level 2 bulletTraining and Professional Development
level 2 bulletOrganisation Chart
level 2 bulletDirectorates
level 2 bulletAnnual Reports
level 2 bulletAwards and Accolades
level 3 bulletFrom 2003 to 2009
level 3 bulletFrom 2010 to 2011
level 3 bulletFrom 2012 to 2013
level 2 bulletContact Us
Print Friendly  

Former Recorders and Chief Justices of the Straits Settlements, Colony of Singapore and State of Singapore

Former Recorders of Penang

 Sir Edmund Stanley  1808-1816
 Sir George Andrew Cooper  1817
 Sir Ralph Rice  1817-1824
 Sir Francis Souper Rayley  1824
 Sir Peter Benson Maxwell  1856-1866
 Sir William Hackett  1866-1867

Former Recorders of Penang, Singapore, Malacca

 Sir John Thomas Claridge  1827-1829
 Sir Benjamin Heath Malkin  1833-1835
 Sir Edward John Gambier  1835-1836
 Sir William Norris  1836-1847
 Sir Christopher Rawlinson    1847-1850
 Sir William Jeffcott  1850-1855

Former Recorders of Singapore, Malacca

 Sir Richard Bolton


 Sir Peter Benson Maxwell    1866-1867

Former Chief Justices of the Straits Settlements
 Sir Peter Benson Maxwell 1867-1871
 Sir Thomas Sidgreaves 1871-1886
 Sir Theodore Thomas
 Sir Edward Loughlin
 Sir Elliot Bovill 1892-1893
 Sir John Winfield Bonser 1893
 Sir William Henry Lionel
 Sir William Hyndman Jones 1906-1914
 Sir John Alexander
 Strachey Buckmill
 Sir Gerald Aubrey
 (died before
 assuming office)
 Sir Walter Sydney
 Sir James William
 Sir Walter Clarence
 Sir Percy Alexander

Former Chief Justices of the Colony of Singapore

 Cecil William Victor
 Carey (Acting CJ)
 Sir Charles Murray-Aynsley  1946-1955
 Sir John Whyatt  1955-1958
 Sir Alan EP Rose KCMG  1959

Former Chief Justices of the State of Singapore

 Sir Alan EP Rose KCMG      1959-1963
 Wee Chong Jin 1963-1965


Last updated on 25 SEP 2008
If you need Adobe Reader, please download at http://get.adobe.com/reader
    Best viewed using IE 7.0+