Media Releases

Swearing in of Justice George Wei and Judicial Commissioners Kannan Ramesh and Foo Tuat Yien

Singapore, 26 May 2015
– The President of the Republic of Singapore, acting in his discretion, and in concurrence with the advice of the Prime Minister has appointed Judicial Commissioner George Wei Sze Shun (韦思舜) as a Judge of the High Court, and Mr Kannan Ramesh, Senior Counsel (SC), and Ms Foo Tuat Yien (符雪燕) as Judicial Commissioners of the Supreme Court of Singapore. JC George Wei was appointed with effect from 25 May 2015. Mr Ramesh was appointed from 22 May 2015 for a term of two years, and Ms Foo Tuat Yien was appointed from 25 May 2015 for a term of three years.
2          JC George Wei, Mr Kannan Ramesh and Ms Foo Tuat Yien were sworn in at a ceremony held at the Istana today.
3          With these appointments, the Supreme Court will have a total of 14 Judges (including the Chief Justice), 10 Judicial Commissioners, five Senior Judges and 12 International Judges.

Media Queries
Angeline Tan
Assistant Director, Office of Public Affairs
Supreme Court of Singapore
T: +65 6332 1017