Judicial Commissioners

A person may be appointed a Judge or Judicial Commissioner of the Supreme Court if he/she has been a "qualified person" within the meaning of section 2 of the Legal Profession Act and/or a member of the Singapore Legal Service for at least ten years.

Judicial Commissioners were appointed to facilitate the disposal of business in the Supreme Court. A Judicial Commissioner has the powers of a Judge and is appointed for a specific period determined by the President.

The Chief Justice, Justices of the Court of Appeal, Judges of the Appellate Division, Judges and Judicial Commissioners are appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister. The Prime Minister is required to consult the Chief Justice before tendering his advice on the appointment of a Judge or Judicial Commissioner. There are currently 26 Judges and 4 Judicial Commissioners on the Supreme Court Bench.